In the name of God…

In the name of God, stop a moment, cease your work, look around you. – Leo Tolstoy

Day 30. Today was a short day; only 2 1/2 hours so I had plenty of time to enjoy the beautiful scenery walking to Triacastela. I walked through the pass into Galicia and it was foggy, cool, damp, and lush with vegetation.  Cattle could be seen in fields along the Camino enjoying the cool morning. Today is a somewhat rest day and tomorrow starts the final 7 days of walking before hitting Santiago.  At my lodging I met Marji from North Carolina who has an injured foot and arrived here by cab. As I walked through town I ran into Kevin and Charlotte who will end their Camino tomorrow in Sarria. They will return in August to walk the final stretch into Santiago with their son.

IMG_6758

IMG_6736
Cloud cover
IMG_6738
So sweet

IMG_6754

IMG_6755
Lovely bar for breakfast

IMG_6764

IMG_6765
Miles and miles of stone fence
IMG_6777
800 year old chestnut tree
IMG_6778
My room for tonight at Complex Xacobeo, an albergue/pension
IMG_6779
On my bedside table
IMG_6781
Restaurant at Complexo Xacobeo
IMG_6783
Hills around Triacastela

 

 

 

11 thoughts on “In the name of God…

  1. Kathy::
    Great pictures again. I love the one with you standing by the 800 year old Chestnut tree. Very cool:
    Bob

    Like

  2. Kathy, your pictures today are spectacular. 8 more days until I pick you up at the airport! – Love, John

    Like

  3. Kathy……I love love love that first picture today of the barb wire fence and the fog. 7 more days ….I’m sure that it will be bittersweet to reach the end of your journey. What an amazing accomplishment. I’m with you in spirit.

    Like

Leave a comment